NBA Finals: LeBron James wins fourth career MVP award

Posted on

For the fourth time in his 17-year career, LeBron James has climbed the mountaintop.

lebron james

James and the Lakers coasted to a 109-93 victory over the Heat in Game 6 to win the 2020 NBA Finals. James finished the night with 28 points, 14 rebounds and 10 assists, extending his record of career triple-doubles in the NBA Finals to 11. He averaged 29.8 points, 11.8 rebounds and 8.5 assists, shooting 59.1% from the field for the series, winning his fourth career Finals MVP award.

The win puts James in second place by himself for career Finals MVP awards, trailing only Michael Jordan, who won the award six times. Three others have won the award three times: Magic Johnson, Shaquille O’Neal and Tim Duncan.

Lakers fans: Get SI’s special-edition L.A. Lakers 2020 NBA Champions commemorative issue here | SI Presents: Kobe Bryant Tribute issue

Source Article


Patrick Mahomes’ four TD passes gets him this award for the fourth time in his career

Posted on

Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes put the finishing touches on a stellar Week 3 with league recognition.

Mahomes was chosen the AFC Offensive Player of the Week, the NFL announced Wednesday morning.

The Chiefs’ signal-caller completed 31 of 42 passes for 385 yards and four touchdowns with a 133.5 passer rating, adding 26 yards rushing and a touchdown, to lead Kansas City in a 34-20 win over the Baltimore Ravens.

His scoring passes went to four different players: wide receiver Tyreek Hill, wide receiver Mecole Hardman, fullback Anthony Sherman and left tackle Eric Fisher.

Mahomes’ performance Monday night propelled the Chiefs to a fourth straight 3-0 start to a regular season and their 12th consecutive win combining the regular season and postseason dating back to Week 11 of the 2019 campaign.

He also etched his name in the NFL record books with another notable achievement. Mahomes topped 10,000 career passing yards in just his 34th game to become the fastest quarterback in league history to reach the milestone. Pro Football Hall of Famer Kurt Warner previously set the mark at 36 games.

Wednesday’s announcement marked the fourth time in Mahomes’ career he was won the AFC Offensive Player of the Week. The NFL previously recognized Mahomes with the award twice in 2018 and once in 2019.


©2020 The Kansas City Star (Kansas City, Mo.)

Visit The Kansas City Star (Kansas City, Mo.) at www.kansascity.com

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

Continue Reading

Source Article